Resetting the data logger

A data logger reset is sometimes referred to as a "memory reset." Backing up the current data logger configuration before a reset makes it easy to revert to the old settings. To back up the data logger configuration, connect to the data logger using ClosedDevice Configuration Utility Software tool used to set up data loggers and peripherals, and to configure PakBus settings before those devices are deployed in the field and/or added to networks., and click Backup > Back Up Datalogger. To restore a configuration after the data logger has been reset, connect and click Backup > Restore Datalogger.

The following features are available for complete or selective reset of data logger memory:

  • Processor reset
  • Program send reset
  • Manual data table reset
  • Formatting memory drives
  • Full memory reset

Processor reset

To reset the processor, simply power cycle the data logger. This resets its short-term memory, restarts the current program, sets variables to their starting values, and clears communications buffers. This does not clear data tables but may result in a skipped record. If the data logger is remote, a power cycle can be mimicked in a Terminal Emulator program (type REBOOT <Enter>).

Program send reset

Final-data memory is erased when user programs are uploaded, unless preserve / erase data options are used and the program was not altered. Preserve / erase data options are presented when sending programs using ClosedFile Control File Control is a feature of LoggerNet, PC400, Device Configuration Utility, and RTDAQ data logger support software. It provides a view of the data logger file system and a menu of file management commands. Send command and CRBasic Editor Compile, Save and Send.

TIP:

It is good practice to always retrieve data from the data logger before sending a program; otherwise, data may be lost. See Collecting data for detailed instruction.

When a program compiles, all variables are initialized. A program is recompiled after a power failure or a manual stop. For instances that require variables to be preserved through a program recompile, consider PreserveVariables().

Manual data table reset

Data table memory is selectively reset from:

Formatting drives

CPU, USR, CRD (memory card required), and USB (module required) drives can be formatted individually. Formatting a drive erases all files on that drive. If the currently running user program is on the drive to be formatted, the program will cease running and data associated with the program are erased. Drive formatting is performed through the Closeddata logger support software LoggerNet, RTDAQ, and PC400 - these Campbell Scientific software applications include at least the following functions: data logger communications, downloading programs, clock setting, and retrieval of measurement data. ClosedFile Control File Control is a feature of LoggerNet, PC400, Device Configuration Utility, and RTDAQ data logger support software. It provides a view of the data logger file system and a menu of file management commands. > Format command.

Full memory reset

Full memory reset occurs when an operating system is sent to the data logger using ClosedDevice Configuration Utility Software tool used to set up data loggers and peripherals, and to configure PakBus settings before those devices are deployed in the field and/or added to networks. or when entering 98765 in the Status table field FullMemReset (see Information tables and settings (advanced)). A full memory reset does the following:

  • Clears and formats CPU drive (all program files erased)
  • Clears data tables.
  • Clears Status table fields.
  • Restores settings to default.
  • Initializes system variables.
  • Clears communications memory.

Full memory reset does not affect the CRD drive directly. Subsequent user program uploads, however, can erase CRD. See Updating the operating system for more information.